LibGuides: WAMC Medical Library and Learning Resource Center: MHS Medical Library: Virtual Resources

How to register for OpenAthens Step by Step

Step by Step How To Register for an OpenAthens Account
Please use this PDF for a step by step how to on registering for an OpenAthens account using the new MHS Medical Library website.

Video Tutorials

How to register for OpenAthens Account
This video demonstrates how to register for an OpenAthens account using the new MHS Medical Library website. Links out to milTube-must have milSuite access in order to view the video.
How to login to OpenAthens using the MHS Medical Library website
This video demonstrates how to login to OpenAthens using the new MHS Medical Library website. The video is hosted on milTube-you must have milSuite access to view the video.

MHS Military Library Remote Access Registration

This account will give you remote access to the MHS Medical Library resources using a single username and password.

To register, you must:

Be affiliated with the Military Health System or Defense Health Agency.
Register on-site at your duty location or at home. Once registered, you will have access to MHS Military Library resources and databases.
Supply a valid Army email address to receive your username and activation code.

If you need assistance registering, please contact the WAMC Medical Library at 910-907-7323. Register here.

Databases

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
1000+ textbooks, 500+ journals, practice guidelines, drug info, and 5,000+ patient handouts in English and Spanish. Also includes First Consult, ProceduresConsult, over 13,000 videos and millions of images. You can filter your search results by clinically meaningful subcategories. Register for a free personal account to access all site features.
DynaMedEX This link opens in a new window
DynaMedex combines the clinical expertise and extensive, curated disease content of DynaMed with the comprehensive view into treatment options, depth and breadth of drug information and AI search capabilities of Micromedex. Provide users with evidence-based insights for optimal clinical decision-making and improved patient outcome
Lexicomp Drug Guide This link opens in a new window
Lexicomp provides clear, concise, point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, IV compatibility from Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database, and other tools.
New England Journal of Medicine This link opens in a new window
Go to the MHS Medical Library homepage. Login to your MHS Medical Library remote access account. Once logged in, scroll down to the alphabetical list of resources. Click Show All. NEJM will be listed.
Ovid This link opens in a new window
Navigate to Ovid using the MHS Medical Library webpage: Click Ovid under the Popular Resources on the right side menu. Select Books and Journals from the Select Resources box that displays.
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
Click the link-You will be prompted to login to your OpenAthens account. Once logged in, the main TDS Health page will display. Click on the STAT!Ref box.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
(Requires CAC login) UpToDate is the only resource associated with improved patient outcomes and hospital performance, and studies show that clinicians who use UpToDate change their decisions 30 percent of the time. More than 6,900 world-renowned physician authors, editors, and reviewers use a rigorous editorial process to synthesize the most recent medical information into trusted, evidence-based recommendations. Every day, clinicians view topics covering 25 specialties over 1.5 million times.

Other databases available through the AMEDD Virtual Library include Anatomy.tv, CINAHL Plus with full text, ClinicalKey for Nursing, Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source w/full text, Health Business Elite, Health Policy Reference Center, Lexicomp Online for Dentistry, MDGuidelines, Medline Plus, Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database, Point of Care Tool Suite, PsychiatryOnline, Science Direct, Travax Encompass, and the Veterinary Medicine eBook collection.

Access these databases here.

PubMed

PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. The National Library of Medicine along with the National Institutes of Health maintain the PubMed database.

PubMed is a great place to start your research. Create a profile to save searches, view recent activity, manage your bibliography, and set search filters.

Visit PubMed here.

MHS Medical Library Mobile Resources

MHS Medical Library Mobile Resources
There are mobile applications available for UpToDate, DynaMedex, STAT!Red, and many other resources. Go to the MHS Medical Library webpage and click on Mobile Apps on the left menu bar. For assistance in downloading and app usage, please contact the Medical Library at 910-907-7323 or by email.

Ask A Librarian

Location	Womack Army Medical Center 2817 Rock Merritt Avenue Fort Liberty, NC 28310 6th Floor, Room C61013-1
Hours	Monday-Thursday: 0730-1600 Friday: 0730-1530
Phone	Library Office: 910-907-7323 Email is the quickest way to receive assistance.
Email	usarmy.liberty.medcom-wamc.mbx.dmed-medical-library@health.mil

WAMC Medical Library and Learning Resource Center: MHS Medical Library: Virtual Resources

What is the MHS Medical Library?