LibGuides: WAMC Medical Library and Learning Resource Center: Family Medicine Hospitalist Fellowship

US Preventive Service Task Force Evidence-Based Screening Tool

The US Preventive Service Task Force has created a free tool that provides evidence-based recommendations for screenings and patient education. It is very easy to use and also has a mobile app.

Prevention TaskForce Search

Prevention TaskForce Mobile App Instructions

Contact

Program Coordinator

910-907-8246

Family Medicine Useful Links

American Academy of Family Physicians
The Mission of the AAFP is to improve the health of patients, families, and communities by serving the needs of members with professionalism and creativity.
Choosing Wisely
The mission of Choosing Wisely is to promote conversations between clinicians and patients by helping patients choose care that is supported by evidence, not duplicative of other tests or procedures already received, free from harm, and truly necessary.
Cochrane Collaboration
Cochrane produces systematic reviews of primary research in human health care and policy. Each Cochrane Review addresses a clearly formulated question. Cochrane Reviews are internationally recognized as the highest standard in evidence-based health care.
Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine
The Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine (VCOM) is a four-year osteopathic medical school offering the Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO) degree. Womack Army Medical Center serves as a core rotating site for VCOM.
Essential Evidence Plus
Essential Evidence Plus is the only evidence-based, point-of-care clinical decision support system that gives you access to over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts, and summaries. (Subscription required-not provided by WAMC Library)
Society of Teachers of Family Medicine
The Society of Teachers of Family Medicine is a national community of academic leaders committed to developing an accomplished family medicine workforce, prepared to serve as the foundation of America’s health care system. Our members include physicians, PAs, nurse practitioners, behavioral health specialists, researchers, nurses and other health care professionals, health system executives, administrators, fellows, residents, students, and others involved in the education of family physicians.
Uniformed Services University
The Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences (USU) is the nation’s federal health professions academy. Womack Army Medical Center serves as a core rotating site for USU.
US Preventative Services Task Force
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force is an independent, volunteer panel of national experts in prevention and evidence-based medicine. The Task Force works to improve the health of all Americans by making evidence-based recommendations about clinical preventive services.

Family Medicine Journals

American Family Physician
Available through ClinicalKey. The American Academy of Family Physicians' peer-reviewed, evidence-based clinical journal offers concise, easy-to-read clinical review articles for physicians and other health care professionals.
Annals of Family Medicine
Available through ClinicalKey. The Annals of Family Medicine is a peer-reviewed research journal to meet the needs of scientists, practitioners, policymakers, and the patients and communities they serve. It is dedicated to advancing knowledge essential to understanding and improving health and primary care.
Family Medicine Journal
Requires OpenAthens login to access. The official journal of the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, publishes original research, systematic reviews, narrative essays, and policy analyses relevant to the discipline of family medicine, particularly focusing on primary care medical education, health workforce policy, and health services research.
Family Practice Management
Available through ClinicalKey. The AAFP’s peer-reviewed practice enhancement journal offers practical ideas for better practice, better patient care, and a better work life for family physicians.
Journal of the American Board of Family Medicine
Available through Ovid-Use the MHS Medical Library link to access. Scroll down to the right side of the page and you will see Ovid listed in the Popular Databases section. Published since 1988, the Journal of the American Board of Family Medicine (JABFM) is the official peer-reviewed journal of the American Board of Family Medicine (ABFM). Believing that the public and scientific communities are best served by open access to information, JABFM makes its articles available free of charge. JABFM is indexed by PubMed, Medline, Index Medicus, and other services.
Obstetrics & Gynecology (Green Journal)
Available through Ovid-use the MHS Medical Library link to access. Scroll down and click on the Ovid link listed under the Popular Databases section. Obstetrics & Gynecology is the Official Publication of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG). Popularly known as "The Green Journal," Obstetrics & Gynecology publishes original articles and research studies on: scientific advances, new medical and surgical techniques, obstetric management, and clinical evaluation of drugs and instruments.
ClinicalKey Family Medicine Journal Collection
Click to access ClinicalKey's collection of Family Medicine journals.

Family Medicine eBooks

Ferri's Clinical Advisor by Fred F. Ferri MD, FACP
ISBN: 9780323755764
Publication Date: 2024
For more than 25 years, Ferri’s Clinical Advisor has provided immediate answers on the myriad medical diseases and disorders you’re likely to encounter in a unique, easy-to-use format. It is updated annually to provide current and clinically relevant answers on over 1,000 common medical conditions, including diseases and disorders, differential diagnoses, clinical algorithms, laboratory tests, and clinical practice guidelines all carefully reviewed by experts in key clinical fields.
Goldman-Cecil Medicine 27th Edition by Johns Hopkins Hospital; Keith Kleinman; Lauren McDaniel; Matthew Molloy
ISBN: 9780323930383
Publication Date: 2024
For more than 95 years, Goldman-Cecil Medicine has been the authoritative source for internal medicine and the care of adult patients. Every chapter is written by acclaimed experts who, with the oversight of our editors, provide definitive, unbiased advice on the diagnosis and treatment of thousands of common and uncommon conditions, always guided by an understanding of the epidemiology and pathobiology, as well as the latest medical literature.
Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care by Grant C. Fowler
ISBN: 9780323476331
Publication Date: 2019-04-12
Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care has been the go-to reference for step-by-step strategies for nearly every medical procedure that can be performed in an office, hospital, or emergency care facility by primary care providers. This 4th Edition continues that tradition with new section editors, updated illustrations, new chapters, and much more.
Integrative Medicine by David P. Rakel (Editor); Vincent Minichiello (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323777278
Publication Date: 2022-10-21
Written by physicians who are experts in both traditional and complementary medicine, Integrative Medicine, 5th Edition, uses clinical, disease-oriented approach to safely and effectively incorporate alternative therapies into primary care practice. Drawing on available scientific evidence and the authors' first-hand experiences, it covers therapies such as botanicals, supplements, mind-body, lifestyle choices, nutrition, exercise, spirituality, and other integrative medicine modalities.
Essential Orthopaedics by Mark D. Miller; Jennifer Hart; John M. MacKnight
ISBN: 9780323568944
Publication Date: 2019-06-21
The vast majority of orthopaedic care takes place not in the orthopaedic surgeon's office or operating room but in various primary care settings. Essential Orthopaedics, 2nd Edition, provides concise, practical guidance from noted authority Dr. Mark D. Miller, along with a stellar editorial team and numerous contributors from both orthopaedics and primary care. Using a templated, bulleted format, it delivers the information you need on diagnosis, management, and appropriate referrals for adult and pediatric patients.
Point of Care Ultrasound by Nilam J. Soni; Robert Arntfield; Pierre Kory
ISBN: 9780323544702
Publication Date: 2019-06-11
Compact, hand-carried ultrasound devices are revolutionizing how healthcare providers practice medicine in nearly every specialty. The 2nd Edition of this BMA-award-winning text features all-new chapters, a greatly expanded video library, and new review questions to keep you fully up to date with the latest technology and its applications. Provides comprehensive guidance for any specialty on the latest point-of-care ultrasound applications for physicians and other health care providers.
Minor Emergencies by Philip Buttaravoli (Editor); Stephen Leffler (Editor); R. Ramsey Herrington (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323662031
Publication Date: 2021-05-28
For clinicians who see patients suffering from non-life-threatening crises, Minor Emergencies, 4th Edition, provides concise, expert guidance on what to do and what not to do for nearly 200 common presentations, including both the correct procedural and pharmaceutical treatments.
Physical Diagnosis of Pain: An Atlas of Signs and Symptoms 5th Edition
ISBN: 9780443118036
Publication Date: 2025
With a practical focus on how a clinician evaluates pain – "what is it?" rather than "where is it?" – Physical Diagnosis of Pain, 5th Edition, remains your most authoritative source for guidance in this key area of pain management.
Habif's Clinical Dermatology by James G. Dinulos
ISBN: 9780323612692
Publication Date: 2020-02-26
Trusted by general dermatologists, family physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and more, Habif's Clinical Dermatology: A Color Guide to Diagnosis and Therapy provides superbly illustrated, easy-to-follow guidance on skin conditions commonly seen in practice. This bestselling manual helps you identify, treat, and manage even hard-to-diagnose skin disorders and provides state-of-the-art answers on every aspect of dermatologic care.
Injection Techniques in Musculoskeletal Medicine by Stephanie Saunders; Steve Longworth
ISBN: 9780702069574
Publication Date: 2018-12-14
The fully updated fifth edition of Injection Techniques in Musculoskeletal Medicine is a trusted step-by-step guide for a wide range of practitioners who deal with the management of painful joints and soft tissues, particularly in relation to sports and overuse injuries. Area-by-area guidance is given for each lesion on appropriate patient selection and delivery of the drug.
Braunwald's Heart Disease, Single Volume by Peter Libby; Robert O. Bonow (Editor); Douglas L. Mann (Editor); Gordon F. Tomaselli (Editor); Deepak L. Bhatt (Editor); Scott D. Solomon (Editor); Eugene Braunwald (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323824675
Publication Date: 2021-11-24
Current, comprehensive, and evidence-based Braunwald's Heart Disease remains the most trusted reference in the field and the leading source of reliable cardiology information for practitioners and trainees worldwide. The fully updated 12th Edition continues the tradition of excellence with dependable, state-of-the-art coverage of new drugs, new guidelines, more powerful imaging modalities, and recent developments in precision medicine that continue to change and advance the practice of cardiovascular medicine.
Zitelli and Davis' Atlas of Pediatric Physical Diagnosis by Sara C. McIntire (Editor); Andrew J. Nowalk (Editor); Jessica Garrison (Editor); Basil J. Zitelli (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323777889
Publication Date: 2021-12-09
Thousands of high-quality clinical photographs paired with authoritative clinical content make Zitelli and Davis' Atlas of Pediatric Physical Diagnosis the trusted, go-to resource for residents and physicians alike. In this thoroughly revised 8th Edition, Drs. Basil J. Zitelli, Sara C. McIntire, Andrew J. Nowalk, and Jessica Garrison provide a much-needed visual perspective on pediatric illness, helping you hone your visual examination skills and improve your diagnostic accuracy.
The Mental Status Examination Handbook by Mario F. Mendez
ISBN: 9780323694896
Publication Date: 2021-03-30
The ability to effectively assess cognitive and other behavioral functions is an essential skill for neurologists, psychiatrists, geriatricians, nurses, and other clinicians who perform clinic and bedside examinations. Unique in the field, The Mental Status Examination Handbook is a user-friendly, comprehensive resource that provides practical guidance on cognitive assessment, clarifies mental status testing procedures, and assists with decision making for neuropsychological referrals.
Netter's Sports Medicine by Christopher Madden; Margot Putukian; Eric McCarty; Craig Young
ISBN: 9780323796699
Publication Date: 2022-03-23
With comprehensive, highly visual coverage designed for sports clinicians, team physicians, sports medicine fellows, primary care physicians, and other health care professionals who provide care to athletes and active individuals, Netter's Sports Medicine, 3rd Edition, is an ideal resource for everyday use. More than 1,000 superb Netter graphics, tables, figures, pictures, diagnostic images, and other medical artwork highlight easy-to-read, bulleted text.

Army Health System Doctrine Smart Book 2021

Army Health System Doctrine Smart Book 2021
"The AHS Doctrine Smart Book is designed to provide brief summaries of all of the current medical doctrine publications. It is a quick reference tool and as such, will not provide all of the doctrinal answers users may need. However, it will point the users in the direction of the correct doctrinal publications for a deeper look at employing medical capabilities and comprehensive discussions about the AHS. The majority of the Smart Book is based on current, approved, published doctrine. Some content is based on publications that are in the final stages of publication (i.e. final electronic file) and therefore, will contain slightly different material than doctrine that can be found on the Army Publishing Directorate website. As AMEDD doctrine publications are updated, the AHS Doctrine Smart Book will be updated."-Health Readiness Center of Excellence.

The Army Health System Doctrine Smart Book is available on the milsuite website. CAC-login required.

FAQ Tutorial Videos for WAMC Medical Library

To view these tutorials, access to milSuite is required.

Ask A Librarian

Location	Womack Army Medical Center 2817 Rock Merritt Avenue Fort Liberty, NC 28310 6th Floor, Room C61013-1
Hours	Monday-Thursday: 0730-1600 Friday: 0730-1530
Phone	Library Office: 910-907-7323 Email is the quickest way to receive assistance.
Email	usarmy.liberty.medcom-wamc.mbx.dmed-medical-library@health.mil

WAMC Medical Library and Learning Resource Center: Family Medicine Hospitalist Fellowship

Family Medicine Hospitalist Fellowship Residency