LibGuides: WAMC Medical Library and Learning Resource Center: Internal Medicine

Internal Medicine Useful Links

American College of Physicians
The American College of Physicians (ACP) is a diverse community of internal medicine specialists and subspecialists united by a commitment to excellence. Internists apply scientific knowledge and clinical expertise to the diagnosis, treatment, and compassionate care of adults across the spectrum from health to complex illness. With 163,000 members in countries across the globe, ACP is the largest medical-specialty society in the world.
Choosing Wisely
The mission of Choosing Wisely is to promote conversations between clinicians and patients by helping patients choose care that is supported by evidence, not duplicative of other tests or procedures already received, free from harm, and truly necessary.
Cochrane Collaboration
Cochrane produces systematic reviews of primary research in human health care and policy. Each Cochrane Review addresses a clearly formulated question. Cochrane Reviews are internationally recognized as the highest standard in evidence-based health care.
Uniformed Services University
The Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences (USU) is the nation’s federal health professions academy. Womack Army Medical Center serves as a core rotating site for USU.
US Preventative Services Task Force
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force is an independent, volunteer panel of national experts in prevention and evidence-based medicine. The Task Force works to improve the health of all Americans by making evidence-based recommendations about clinical preventive services.

FAQ Tutorial Videos for WAMC Medical Library

To view these tutorials, access to milSuite is required.

Internal Medicine Journals

ClinicalKey Internal Medicine Full Text Journals: Please use this link to access ClinicalKey's full text collection of Internal Medicine journals. Link: Internal Medicine Full Text Journals (124 total)

OvidSP Internal Medicine Full Text Journals: Ovid has almost 100 Internal Medicine journals available. Use the MHS Genesis Library to access Ovid. For assistance navigating to the Internal Medicine journals on Ovid, please contact the medical library.

Internal Medicine eBooks

Habif's Clinical Dermatology by James G. H. Dinulos
ISBN: 9780323612692
Publication Date: 2020-02-26
Available through ClinicalKey. Trusted by general dermatologists, family physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and more, Habif's Clinical Dermatology: A Color Guide to Diagnosis and Therapy provides superbly illustrated, easy-to-follow guidance on skin conditions commonly seen in practice. This bestselling manual helps you identify, treat, and manage even hard-to-diagnose skin disorders and provides state-of-the-art answers on every aspect of dermatologic care.
The ICU Book by Paul L. Marino
ISBN: 9781451121186
Publication Date: 2013-11-05
Available through Ovid-login via the MHS Virtual Library OpenAthens link. Look for Ovid listed under the Popular Resources list on the right. ICU Book, Fourth Edition, continues to provide the current and practical guidance that have made it the best-selling text in critical care. The text addresses both the medical and surgical aspects of critical care, delivering the guidance needed to ensure sound, safe, and effective treatment for patients in intensive care--regardless of the specialty focus of the unit.

ClinicalKey Internal Medicine Full Text Books: Please use this link to access ClinicalKey's full text collection of Internal Medicine books. Link: Internal Medicine Collection (65 total)

OvidSP Internal Medicine Full Text Books: Ovid has 29 Internal Medicine books available. Use the MHS Genesis Virtual Library to access Ovid. For assistance navigating to the Internal Medicine books on Ovid, please contact the medical library.

Contact

GME Student Coordinator	910-907-6973
Residency Coordinator	910-643-2415
Email	usarmy.liberty.medcom-wamc.list.dme-gme@health.mil

US Preventive Task Force Evidence-Based Screening Tool

The US Preventive Service Task Force has created a free tool that provides evidence-based recommendations for screenings and patient education. It is very easy to use and also has a mobile app.

Prevention TaskForce Search

Prevention TaskForce Mobile App Instructions

Army Health System Doctrine Smart Book 2019

Army Health System Doctrine Smart Book 2021
"The AHS Doctrine Smart Book is designed to provide brief summaries of all of the current medical doctrine publications. It is a quick reference tool and as such, will not provide all of the doctrinal answers users may need. However, it will point the users in the direction of the correct doctrinal publications for a deeper look at employing medical capabilities and comprehensive discussions about the AHS. The majority of the Smart Book is based on current, approved, published doctrine. Some content is based on publications that are in the final stages of publication (i.e. final electronic file) and therefore, will contain slightly different material than doctrine that can be found on the Army Publishing Directorate website. As AMEDD doctrine publications are updated, the AHS Doctrine Smart Book will be updated."-Health Readiness Center of Excellence.

The Army Health System Doctrine Smart Book is available on the milsuite website. CAC-login required.

Ask A Librarian

Location	Womack Army Medical Center 2817 Rock Merritt Avenue Fort Liberty, NC 28310 6th Floor, Room C61013-1
Hours	Monday-Thursday: 0730-1600 Friday: 0730-1530
Phone	Library Office: 910-907-7323 Email is the quickest way to receive assistance.
Email	usarmy.liberty.medcom-wamc.mbx.dmed-medical-library@health.mil

WAMC Medical Library and Learning Resource Center: Internal Medicine

Internal Medicine Residency Program